Meet the team

Scott Mitchell

Scott Mitchell

Managing Director

Scott joined the company as Commercial Director in 2010. Since that time the Company has gone from strength to strength. He was promoted to Managing Director in August 2018.

S.Mitchell@surgeonsquarter.com
Mark McKenzie

Mark McKenzie

Surgeons Quarter General Manager

Mark joined the Company as Hotel Manager and in 2018 was promoted to Surgeons Quarter General Manager. He knows everything that's going on around campus.

m.mckenzie@surgeonsquarter.com
Neil Johnston

Neil Johnston

Financial Controller

Neil is the money man at Surgeons Quarter, leading an efficient team who track all of the business's income and outgoings.

n.johnston@surgeonsquarter.com
Jackie Hudson

Jackie Hudson

Revenue Manager

Jackie is responsible for overseeing the revenue strategy. She comes up with lots of great value packages for both Ten Hill Place Hotel and events at Surgeons Quarter.

j.hudson@surgeonsquarter.com
Sarah Williamson

Sarah Williamson

Business and Talent Manager

Sarah ensures our team are well looked after, as well as supporting the Managing Director across Surgeons Quarter & RCSEd.

s.williamson@surgeonsquarter.com
Alan Dickson

Alan Dickson

Executive Chef

Alan heads our award-winning chefs and was Scottish Chef of the Year 2017. He has twice been invited to cook for the Secret Herb Garden's Full Moon Dinners, a huge honour. 

a.dickson@tenhillplace.com
Sue Stuart

Sue Stuart

Commercial Manager

Sue has a wealth of experience, having worked with many key players in the City of Edinburgh. Her knowledge is key in expanding our association business.

s.stuart@surgeonsquarter.com
André Soromenho

André Soromenho

Business Support & Events Manager

André looks after internal events between the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and ourselves, as well as our valued clients visiting Surgeons Quarter.

a.soromenho@surgeonsquarter.com
Sandra Carruthers

Sandra Carruthers

Hospitality Manager

Sandra, along with Richie & Jason manages all the hospitality in Ten Hill Place Hotel & at Surgeons Quarter.  She loves the Festival and comes up with lots of ideas to pimp your prosecco! 

s.carruthers@surgeonsquarter.com
Richie Monese

Richie Monese

Hospitality Manager

Richie, along with Sandra & Jason manages all the hospitality in Ten Hill Place Hotel & at Surgeons Quarter.  Richie is very passionate about Drinks & Dining and will ensure you have a great experience whilst dining with us.

r.monese@tenhillplace.com
Jason Rogers

Jason Rogers

Hospitality Manager

Jason, along with Richie & Sandra manages all the hospitality in Ten Hill Place Hotel & at Surgeons Quarter.  Jason can move at the speed of light and is often seen in multiple venues around the campus at once.

j.rogers@surgeonsquarter.com
Michaela Monese

Michaela Monese

Assistant Hospitality Manager

Michaela is super organised and is always on hand to make sure the hospitality in the hotel and at her events is seamless. 

m.monese@surgeonsquarter.com
Natalia Szpilewska-Lis

Natalia Szpilewska-Lis

Assistant Hospitality Manager

Natalia also manages the hospitality both in the hotel & at events and takes great photos of funky set-ups to post on our social media pages.

n.szpilewska-lis@surgeonsquarter.com
Lesley Christensen

Lesley Christensen

Guest Relations Manager

Lesley is one of our longest serving staff members and will always ensure your every need is taken care of.

l.christensen@tenhillplace.com
Debbie Keating

Debbie Keating

Reservations Manager

Debbie supervises all bookings taken by our guests, ensuring you get exactly what you're looking for.

d.keating@tenhillplace.com
Gayle Madden

Gayle Madden

Head Housekeeper

Gayle runs a tight ship and her standards are of the highest level, which is evident in every corner of the Hotel.

g.madden@tenhillplace.com
Robert Hurley

Robert Hurley

Night Manager

Robert manages our Night Team and you can be assured of a great night's sleep when he is in charge!

r.hurley@tenhillplace.com
Justin MacKenzie

Justin MacKenzie

Surgeons Quarter Travel Manager

Formerly Guest Relations Manager at Ten Hill Place Hotel, Justin's years of experience in the travel industry make him the perfect man to head up our newest venture.

j.mackenzie@surgeonsquarter.com
Caroline Massie

Caroline Massie

Surgeons Quarter Travel Consultant

Caroline specialises in business travel and enjoys ensuring her clients have a smooth and comfortable journey, wherever they're going.

c.massie@surgeonsquarter.com
Lawrie King

Lawrie King

Surgeons Quarter Travel Consultant

Lawrie has a wealth of travel experience, so you can relax knowing that everything is in hand.

l.king@sqtravel.co.uk